Skip to content

Drawing New Zealand cultural icons

15/12/2011

I quite like drawing Katherine Mansfield. I’ve done a few comics about her, here and here. This picture has been commissioned for a Katherine Mansfield conference at Victoria University in 2013, and is inspired by Mansfield’s 1917 letter to John Middleton Murry: ‘Don’t lower your mask until you have another mask prepared beneath – as terrible as you like – but a mask’

I have also started doing comics for the Guide section of Metro Magazine, and my first brief was a Rita Angus and Douglas Lilburn play by Dave Armstrong. I’ve half a mind to write a comic book about all of NZ’s literary and artistic giants. But then I’ve got some other ideas too…

5 Comments leave one →
  1. 15/12/2011 11:13 am

    Stunning!

  2. Drew permalink
    15/12/2011 1:35 pm

    Maybe draw Carmen; she died today. A NZ artistic giant if there ever was one. Your colour palette would love you for it.

    • Sarah Laing permalink
      15/12/2011 2:35 pm

      What an excellent idea! RIP Carmen.

  3. 15/12/2011 3:04 pm

    Tour pictures of Katherine Mansfield are beautiful – and I never knew that about Rita Angus!

  4. 16/12/2011 7:41 am

    Beautiful, Sarah! Chris Knox would render superbly too. P.S. WELCOME BACK FRANK!! x

Leave a comment