Skip to content

The Alison Bechdel fan comic

28/03/2014

The latest Metro Magazine comic is out now, so I can show you my one from last month – the comic that I pressed on Alison Bechdel when she came to town.

alisonbechdelLORES

It all unfolded as I drew it – I handed Alison a pile of my comics, blushing and gushing, and she assured me that she wouldn’t throw them in the recycling. The next time I went to see her talk, one week later, I took Jonathan and he lined up to get another one of my books signed. Alison told him that she really enjoyed my comics (squeal!) and this is what she drew:

IMG_2225

Here is a sneak preview of the new Metro comic – this time I’m grappling with neighbourhood inequality and crazy Auckland house prices.

alteredstatesI feel bad that I’m not drawing any new comics for my blog but I’m crazily busy trying to get my Katherine Mansfield book into shape. If only I could clone myself so I could get armies of me working on all my projects. Maybe I should just get up earlier in the morning. Sigh.

 

2 Comments leave one →
  1. Emma Jean permalink
    28/03/2014 12:30 pm

    Gorgeous! Being a fan is really important…

  2. 29/03/2014 6:04 am

    I also wish there were armies of you! Those would be some really life-affirming armies.

Leave a comment