Skip to content

Ouija board, ouija board

08/08/2013

 

8august0018august0028august0038august004Here’s a little bit of writer’s angst to keep the quota up. I was going to write a comic on being reviewed, but that will have to wait. In the mean time, you can listen to Carole Beu reviewing The Fall of Light on Radio NZ – she was very enthusiastic – thank you, Carole! I got a vile review in Craccum which I’m trying to blot out of my consciousness but of course all of those damning things are seared on my heart. No, I’m not going to link to it. You will have to google it if you want a schadenfreude moment.

Oh, and I am going to be appearing at a few events in the coming weeks. Next Wednesday (5.30 14 August) I’ll be at a Lounge reading at the University of Auckland, and the following Wednesday (5pm 21 August) I’ll take part in a Salon event with Stephanie Johnson at Charlotte Grimshaw. The next day I’ll be in Wellington at the Alexander Turnbull Library talking about my blog! Woohoo! Of course I’ll try and slip in some novel and comics product placement too. And hopefully I’ll get a chance to look at some of Katherine Mansfield’s original letters and journals.

And the title of this blog entry? It’s a Morrissey song, of course.

9 Comments leave one →
  1. 09/08/2013 12:46 am

    Brilliant. KM is dead wrong about your talents. 🙂

  2. 09/08/2013 7:17 am

    Ditto brilliant. Love the ghost in all it’s forms.

  3. 09/08/2013 7:49 am

    You could have not mentioned the Craccum review and probably no one (apart from intended demographic) would have seen it.

    • Sarah Laing permalink
      09/08/2013 8:25 am

      Yes, you’re right – but vile reviews are part of being a novelist and I’ve had at least one per book. If I only posted about the positive reviews then I would be a bit nauseating. Perhaps I’m secretly hoping that someone will tell me how wrong the craccum reviewer was, and how my drawings weren’t clumsy and how my story wasn’t stale.

  4. 09/08/2013 9:08 am

    I think Katherine is a bad influence on you – getting you to smoke ghost ciggies! Good thing she’s dead.

    Ignore the reviews – your book’s grand.

  5. 09/08/2013 10:50 am

    Most especially love the ‘ghost cigarettes can’t give you cancer’.

  6. 09/08/2013 11:45 am

    Looking forward to your talk at the Turnbull! What a treat!

  7. Carol Brown permalink
    11/08/2013 1:54 pm

    Carole Beu was enthusiastic but she is a reviewer who details the plot. I hate that.

    • Sarah Laing permalink
      11/08/2013 3:01 pm

      I know – she did give a bit much away!

Leave a comment