Skip to content

The fear of second hand bookshops

24/04/2013

 

24april00124april002 24april004

Here is a link to the podcast Ramblings. Here is a link to David Sedaris sounding like Billie Holiday. And here is a link to James Brown’s poem, which is very funny and a little bit tragic.

Oh, and my apologies for all the paraphrasing – my children were hogging the computer so I had to remember everything! My brain is so reliant on google these days, it barely functions without a device on hand.

8 Comments leave one →
  1. 24/04/2013 11:11 am

    A few years ago I helped write and edit a non-fiction book which entailed many hours at night after my ‘day job’ had ended sitting in front of the computer. It was a huge project for many months with a lot of sacrifices made on both my, Joe and Harper’s parts. I found it in the library book sale a few months ago, withdrawn. It was an awful moment.

  2. 24/04/2013 11:13 am

    This is so great Sarah! I found that podcast of David Sedaris both compelling and a little sad – he’s REALLY OCD about the rubbish and there’s so much of it. Great comic – as always. x Emma.

  3. 24/04/2013 11:17 am

    I always find it strange when I buy second-hand poetry books that the author has carefully inscribed to somebody and that somebody has sold it on. I haven’t yet found one of my own inscriptions to re-buy — that will be spooky.

    I love the genesis of that title!

  4. 24/04/2013 1:23 pm

    This is funny! It’s a great idea for a comic strip.

  5. 24/04/2013 5:50 pm

    Oh I hadn’t thought of potentially seeing mt book in a 2nd hand shop. Another thing to worry about!! 🙂

  6. 12/08/2013 7:37 pm

    Years ago when I owned a secondhand bookshop (called “Read On!” here in Dunedin New Zealand) I bought in a book which had been presented by the New Zealand staff to a woman who had worked at Scott Base in Antarctica. Anyway, I knew the woman! She lived just up the Valley and I rang her and she RAN down to my store to buy it! She was thriled.
    Mike.

Leave a comment