Skip to content

Dreamscapes

13/03/2013

page039 page041 page042 page043 page044Are you wondering what this is? It’s a short sequence from the illustrative component of my novel. The Fall of Light reads as a conventional novel but between each chapter there are illustrations of the hero Rudy’s dream life. It works as a story in its own right – albeit a surreal, fairy tale story.

Some people hate dreams. I remember hearing Kim Hill railing against them, and Michael Chabon describes them as the sea monkeys of consciousness. He makes me feel quite embarrassed about my creative decisions. But then again, I’m not telling you Rudy’s dreams. Please don’t yawn – I’m showing you pictures. And because I’m an author, I’ve organised it into a coherent narrative. There’s a consistent visual metaphor – that of the pomegranate seed – and there’s a story arc. Besides, I like dreams. For years after I returned from New York City, I’d dream I was back there. Of course it was a different of NYC – a distorted, gothic kind with huge cathedrals and palaces that didn’t exist. I’d always be taking the train out of the city, into the country side. Now I don’t dream of NYC much any more, but instead of a shadow Auckland. I bike around this Auckland, up and down impossibly steep hills and along the motorway.

Speaking of biking, I had my very first modeling assignment this weekend at the age of 39. Here I am on my bike at Bespoke, wearing a cute outfit from Dalston. My hair has been teased into a Joan from Madmen style by a fa’afine makeup artist. I sat there fantasising about being the kind of person who had a hair and makeup person come to her house on regular occasions.

sarahcycling

 

3 Comments leave one →
  1. 13/03/2013 4:56 pm

    I can’t wait to read the novel! I love the idea of the visual narrative. xx

  2. 13/03/2013 5:31 pm

    For every Michael Chabon in the world there is a Jean Cocteau. Cocteau loved dreams. Great post.

  3. 14/03/2013 12:44 am

    Beautiful and dreamy!

Leave a comment