Skip to content

Tomatoes and other natural disasters

13/02/2012

Treme, set in post-Katrina New Orleans, does seem very good, and we have another 6 episodes to watch before Friday, when it’s due back at the library. In the meantime, I am still procrastinating. Right now I’m meant to be starting on a Real Graphic Novel so that I can legitimately apply for an arts grant. But the temptation for quick comics is too great. Besides, I have too many ideas, and I don’t know which one to start. The collection of graphic short stories? The fantastical Michael Ende-inspired story? The memoir about my childhood in Germany? Or is there something I can make out of this, this profusion of comics I’ve been drawing for the past couple of years? I don’t know.

In the mean time I’ve got my feedback on my novel back and it’s off to write a final draft. There may be a graphic novel component of that – watch this space. I will write a comic about it soon, or perhaps not, if I actually manage to do the things I am meant to be doing. What I really should be doing is earning some money. Which takes me back to the grant application…

4 Comments leave one →
  1. William permalink
    14/02/2012 6:47 am

    And will, the tomatoes be ok?, did violet go back to sleep, have you watched another episode and kept up to schedule and was the review of your new novel good? You can’t leave us hanging like this.

    • Sarah Laing permalink
      14/02/2012 8:58 am

      Yes, Violet slept, no, I didn’t watch any more last night because again the children wouldn’t sleep, and I will write a comic about my novel progress – this is all about suspense and trying to hook the reader in! Alternately, you could call me and ask me.

  2. 15/02/2012 1:12 pm

    Violet is a show unto herself. What an adventurer.
    I’ve enjoyed the few episodes of Treme I’ve seen.
    Not much progress happening in this household either since I withdrew my son from kindy – hang in there.
    Good luck with the grant application.

  3. 17/02/2012 4:13 pm

    I spent a lot of time in my childhood smelling like tomato plants. Not because I fell out my window, I just liked touching them.

Leave a comment