Skip to content

On reading, using too many metaphors, and making paneer


Another article, thanks to the Guardian, about how we can’t concentrate anymore and we need to bring back Slow Reading.

4 Comments leave one →
  1. Kim permalink
    08/09/2010 9:09 am

    Mary Gaitskill is downright terrific, have you seen Secretary? (It’s loosely based off a short story from her Bad Behaviour book) If not, I’ve got a copy that you can borrow if you like. I live in Parnell and am an unbashed fan. :)

    • Sarah Laing permalink
      08/09/2010 8:36 pm

      Thanks, Kim, but I just got Bad Behaviour out from the library. I did see the movie – I read that the short story is way more intense.

  2. Caren permalink
    08/09/2010 1:27 pm

    Ha… I feel like a jaded reader too who is hardly ever captivated in the old way. On a semi-related topic, as part of my process of becoming a jaded reader (ie book reviewing and author interviews, and seldom getting to choose your own reading matter) I interviewed Maile Meloy. One of those late-night phone ones… I remember she was very approachable and fantastically nice. At the end of the interview she asked me if I wrote fiction, and we had a kind of author-to-author chat. It was great.

    • Sarah Laing permalink
      08/09/2010 8:37 pm

      Yeah, I would like to be Maile Meloy’s friend… she sounds cool.

Leave a Reply

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

Join 2,543 other followers

