Skip to content

Icons

21/01/2013

Last weekend was my  friend Drew’s birthday and he asked me to make him another one of my icons, this time Quentin Crisp.

IMG_9837

 

This is to go with the Oscar Wilde icon that I made him a few years ago. He tells me my style has changed – and he’s right, the face is a bit more delicate, less shadowy. Quentin is very pale and lilac-y. Perhaps I should do it again.

IMG_5240

 

Drew wanted one because I’d already made a pair for my friend Helen, Derek Jarmin and Joe Strummer:

IMG_9868

 

Helen wanted hers because she had traveled to Greece and she’d seen the Nick Cave icon I’d made for my friends Steve and Nat’s wedding:

IMG_5639

I am conscious that I don’t have any female icons, only male. Maybe I should make some for myself! I am also conscious that I haven’t been posting comics for a while. For some reason these school holidays have been all-consuming. I am also hard at work at the images for my novel. But I hope to make some more soon – I miss drawing comics.

6 Comments leave one →
  1. 21/01/2013 8:22 am

    These are so fabulous I am gobsmacked of a Monday morning. Or Godsmacked? Brilliant stuff Sarah, so pleased you shared them.

  2. Ange permalink
    21/01/2013 8:26 am

    Bloody marvelous!

  3. Eleanor permalink
    21/01/2013 9:37 am

    TALENT. Right there. Bucketloads.

  4. 21/01/2013 10:44 am

    Wow Sarah they are awesome!

  5. Emma Jean permalink
    21/01/2013 11:35 am

    They are beautiful. I love them!!!!!!!! They remind me of David Halperin’s book ‘Saint Foucault; Towards a Gay Hagiography’ – these would make a beautiful exhibition.

  6. 30/01/2013 8:19 am

    Wow, these are stunning. Love them and the idea of them!

Leave a Reply

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

Join 2,528 other followers

